Chocolate and coffee.. gifts from God

Those who know me already know I love coffee and chocolate.  I love them both dark and organic and intense and they bless my daily life.  (Not that I have chocolate every day!)  My mission in life is to nurture my family.  So combine all that with my love of cooking and what do you have?  A dessert which is quick, easy, divine and not too wicked, and one I have made quite a few times.

 

Coffee and Chocolate Self-saucing Pudding  

(from Donna Hay Magazine Issue 32 Apr/May 2007)

Batter:
1/2 cup (125ml) milk (I use soy as i am dairy free)
35g unsalted butter, melted
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon (5ml) vanilla extract
1/2 cup (150g) plain flour, sifted (I substitute spelt or another flour as I am wheat-free)
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder, sifted
1 tablespoon instant coffee, sifted 
1/4 cup (27.5g) almond meal (ground almonds)
1/4 cup (27.5g) brown sugar

Sauce:
1/2 cup (55g) brown sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons cocoa powder, sifted
1 cup (250ml) water

Preheat the over to 180 degrees Celsius (355 degrees Fahrenheit). For the pudding batter, place the milk, butter, egg and vanilla in a bowl and whisk to combine. Place the flour, baking powder, coffee, almond meal and sugar in another bowl and mix. Gradually add the milk mixture and whisk well to combine. Set aside.

For the sauce, place the sugar, cocoa powder and water in a 15cm 4 cup (1 litre) capacity non-stick (NOT Teflon!) frying pan (I use a Le Creuset cast-iron pan) over medium heat. Stir until the sugar dissolves and bring to the boil. Remove from the heat. Pour the pudding batter into the frying pan containing the sauce. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until firm to touch.

Serve with cream, mascapone or whipped ricotta. Or even plain.  It doesn’t need anything with it.  

Serves 4 (leftovers make good breakfast – almonds are protein!)

Tags: , , , ,

23 Responses to “Chocolate and coffee.. gifts from God”

  1. J D Says:

    Do you think this would hold up to an overseas shipment? 🙂 Great start on your blog Wendy. You’re a natural.

  2. GoaldeeBug Says:

    Welcome to the blogworld Wendy!

    This recipe sounds amazing…. I wonder if it can hold up to those of us (read ‘me’) who have no success with desserts, for some reason?

    I consider myself a pretty good cook, but desserts totally elude me. It’s freaky!

  3. c3andp Says:

    Nice blog, Wendy.
    I once had a blog – for about ten minutes. I am sure you will do better than me.
    You did right by blogging about something you are passionate about. That will keep you going, and the rest of us reading.
    C3

  4. Trey Morgan Says:

    Wendy … I like the new blog!

  5. Linda Says:

    Sounds really good Wendy! I am not so sure about the healthy aspects of the recipe though 🙂 too much sugar & butter for my diet! I know that splurging occasionally is good for all of us all though. It is the overindulgence that gets us into trouble! I am looking forward to more great insights and recipes! Love ya!

  6. Tucker Says:

    Wendy, you blog well, and you blog about food! Now quit cause there is no way you can top this post! You made me salivate reading that recipe! I gotta go eat some chocolate covered coffee beans.

  7. Moonbeam Says:

    Wendy, I DO have chocolate every day! Every night it’s my little dessert that I have around 7 o’clock. I look forward to that! Great site! Thanks for letting me know about it.

  8. wjcsydney Says:

    Tucker, I had to start with coffee and chocolate.. but there is food that sustains me even more!

    Linda, we don’t eat dessert every night. I did make C bread pudding last night but I don’t eat “ordinary” bread so I don’t share it with him.

    C3 – this is my 4th blog! My first is still up and running with one post! My second is a private one but currently in hibernation. Forget what happened to my third… I start things but am not good at persevering.

    Goaldeebug – this one is foolproof. Give it a go!

    J D – I don’t think it will make it to LA. You might just have to either try the recipe or order it for dessert when you come to Hillsong conference.

  9. Angel Says:

    oooooo Wendy that looks divine!
    Will try soon

    Sure I will visit here lots – can trust you to make me smile – and drool 😉

    xxx
    A

  10. Roger Says:

    hey wendy, pls save me a piece. you can send it to me, once i get this USB transmorgifyer device working, which allows people to send physical objects over the net to each other. on second thought, perhaps this might take a while, so never mind. =) love, roger p.s. do you like mexican food? i have a lot of great and simple recipes. -r

  11. wjcsydney Says:

    Roger, I love Mexican food but have to admit I haven’t experienced the real thing yet, so please.. share your recipes with me and I promise to share them on here. PS let me know when the transmoggyfier (will that send kitties too?) is working.. it will save me postage costs!

  12. steven the goad Says:

    welcome to the world of blogging, i haven’t the spine for it, good luck, wend

  13. GrandDad Says:

    Wendy,
    Methinks you’ve found your “callin'”.
    I have my own blog, but keep forgettin’ to post my “wisdom” on it. (Hmmm. It just occurred to me. Perhaps I don’t HAVE any wisdom. Oh, well . . . )
    If I ever get regular (which I may do if I eat many of your chocolate desserts!), I’ll try to remember to drop you a note! 8^D
    ~ granddad

  14. Darla Says:

    Lovely writing Wendy.
    I too love mushrooms and intend to try the dessert.
    The books sound wonderful and I will keep an eye our for them.
    Darla

  15. magneto bold too Says:

    *swoon* that sounds divine! Come and make me some babe, I am feeling poorly and I think that is just the kick start I need 🙂

  16. jane Says:

    Somewhere in my blog is a recipe for Chocolate mousse. Very easy, very quick, very yummy.

  17. H. Clay McCool saint/priest Says:

    WENDY THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE TENNESSEE RECIPIES

    Poke Sallet

    Poke – or pokeweed – is a tall, berry-bearing annual that grows in Tennessee and other southern states.

    In its tender, young state, the plant’s leafy parts can be prepared in methods similar to cooking spinach or greens.

    In the case of poke, this usually involves boiling and at least two changes of water.

    After it gets over 7 inches long, it becomes poisonous to humans, and the berries are poisonous to humans.

    Poke Sallet

    Gather all the sallet you can find (it cooks down.) Pick 6 to 7-inch shoots.
    Wash and clean; swim the shoots in plenty of water in a big pot and boil until tender.

    Meanwhile slice a pan of country bacon and fry out the grease.
    When the poke is tender, drain off the water it was cooked in and cover it with cold water. Squeeze it out of the cold water into the hot bacon grease.
    Salt to taster and cook slolwy until hot through. Serve with the fried bacon and hot cornbread.

    yummmmmmmmm yummmmmmm :=)

  18. steven the goad Says:

    can you send me some cookies, i need them as soon as possible, i know the postage from down under to up over will be costly, but what are friends for if not to send cookies during times of distress

  19. wjcsydney Says:

    Steve, these are the crumbly type and won’t make the journey. How are you at baking?

  20. wjcsydney Says:

    Clay, I can’t see you cooking something that involves two changes of water.. It does sound good though. In Europe they cook young fern fronds much the same way.

  21. nicole M Beltane Says:

    thanks for the wendy, im going to try it but without the almonds as i dont have any :(…

    nicole

  22. random answers « Food from Afar Says:

    […] 7 Can I have your favourite recipe for a dessert you love? Coffee and chocolate self-saucing pudding was my first ever blog post!  I make it […]

  23. Lesley Helen Hathorn Says:

    Delicious blog !

Leave a Reply

