Blessings – Meals on Wheels and Bach

I have been blogging in my head. Which is not very useful. A combination of procrastination and perfectionism (which is why I am a FLYbaby) has meant that these posts remain yet unpublished. I need to be more disciplined.

So.. let’s break the fast:

C delivers Meals on Wheels fortnightly (his company encourages their staff to do community service and allows them flexible working arrangements to facilitate this). But sometimes he can’t make it (a meeting he can’t miss, for example) and then I do it for him. He had cataract surgery last week and the week before and isn’t up to driving yet (plus his licence has expired and it’s doubtful he would pass the vision test at the moment so he can’t renew it yet) so I did his run this morning.

Meals on Wheels provides food from afar. The food isn’t what I would call ” good food” (the main courses are, of necessity, highly processed, and full of additives and preservatives) but it is a valuable service to those who receive the meals and is a blessing to them. When I first reluctantly began doing fill-in runs for C a couple of years ago, I was extremely uncomfortable delivering the meals. It took me way out of my comfort zone. I am not good with people I don’t know and find small talk difficult. Plus some of the situations the clients are in are sad and confronting. But it has become easier and even though I seldom set off eagerly, I am always blessed by doing a MOW run.

Today was chilly but sunny in Sydney. A glorious winter day. My run takes me close to or alongside three of the bays in Sydney Harbour (Five Dock Bay, Iron Cove and Hen and Chickens Bay). I was looking forward to a friend’s 50th birthday lunch later.

I flick between two radio channels when I am driving – 103.2 (contemporary Christian radio) and 2MBS.FM (Sydney’s fine music station).  Bach’s double violin concerto was on 2MBS – this version

with Itzhak Perlman and Isaac Stern was playing.  Perlman was, I think, my father’s favourite, though he loved Heifezt, Menuhin and Zukerman as well.  It was a special blessing.

It was food from afar – from my childhood, when we were forced to endure “Sunday music” (as we used to call classical music) which my father would play loudly on his B & O record player all Sunday.  But as adults we four siblings all love and are “fed” by violin music.  (Someone called the slow movement of Beethoven’s violin concerto was one of the highest cultural achievements of western civilization – and it has to be one of the most sublime things I can experience – listening to Zukerman play it.)  Beethoven I need to be alone or in a concert hall to enjoy.  Bach, on a sunny day in the car, was blissful.

A very good way to start my week.  I was blessed.

What’s been a special blessing for you recently?

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Blessings – Meals on Wheels and Bach”

  1. Ellen Says:

    Well, I’m listening to Dvorak’s New World Symphony on Classic FM right now. Yesterday I heard a Bach Oboe Concerto I really like. Food for the soul!

  2. Minkydo Says:

    I blog a lot in my head as well 🙂

    Thanks for putting the song your blog. I like it.

  3. Naomi in Oz Says:

    Love to play Beethoven but not a fan of sitting still and listening, but I love to sit and listen to JS Bach but really struggle to play his music. Perhaps its because I’m a piano girl, and have never really mastered the pipe organ.
    I’m currently listening to the Peer Gynt Suite by Edvard Grieg.

Leave a Reply

