The New Classics: Books

Entertainment Weekly lists the 100 best reads in the last 25 years.

From their list I have copied the ones I have read, or ones that I own and are waiting to be read (marked TBR on my list) or the one’s MissN has read and we own (which means I might read them some day…)
(Thanks to rooruu – I copied your post!  Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery and all that…)

The New Classics: Books

The 100 Best Reads from 1983-2008

1. The Road , Cormac McCarthy (2006) (C and I both loved it – it was a bookclub choice)
2. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, J.K. Rowling (2000) (MissN has read – she has all the HP’s)
6. Mystic River, Dennis Lehane (2001) (TBR – started it.  I have the movie too)
9. Cold Mountain, Charles Frazier (1997) (TBR)
16. The Handmaid’s Tale, Margaret Atwood (1986)
17. Love in the Time of Cholera, Gabriel García Márquez (1988 )  (TBR)
20. Bridget Jones’s Diary, Helen Fielding (1998 ) (we have both books and the movies)
27. Possession, A.S. Byatt (1990)
36. Angela’s Ashes, Frank McCourt (1996)
40. His Dark Materials, Philip Pullman (1995-2000) (TBR) (I loved “The Golden Compass” movie)
48. The Poisonwood Bible, Barbara Kingsolver (1998 )
50. The Corrections, Jonathan Franzen (2001) (TBR)
56. The Night Manager, John le Carré (1993) (TBR)
57. The Bonfire of the Vanities, Tom Wolfe (1987) (TBR)
67. The Kite Runner, Khaled Hosseini (2003) (TBR) (I gave this to C last Christmas, knowing that if he didn’t enjoy it, I would!)
72. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Mark Haddon (2003) (MIssN has read)
77. The Remains of the Day, Kazuo Ishiguro (1989) (Loved the movie too)
82. Atonement, Ian McEwan (2002)
83. The Stone Diaries, Carol Shields (1994) (Can I boast and say I have a signed copy?)
84. Holes, Louis Sachar (1998 ) (MissN has read)
88. High Fidelity, Nick Hornby (1995)
92. Presumed Innocent, Scott Turow (1987) (TBR)
93. A Thousand Acres, Jane Smiley (1991) (TBR)
96. The Da Vinci Code, Dan Brown (2003)

My favourites were

The Road , Cormac McCarthy (2006)

Possession, A.S. Byatt (1990)

The Stone Diaries, Carol Shields (1994)

I guess what all the TBR’s tell me is I don’t need to buy ANY books for a VERY LONG time!

The list also gives me some ideas for bookclub – it’s my choice next month.

At the moment, I am reading an old classic- The Warden by Anthony Trollope (1855).  I loved Barchester Towers, and enjoyed the BBC series Barchester Chronicles (with a young Alan Rickman!) which was an adaptation of both books, so now I am enjoying The Warden.

What are you reading?

What do you plan reading next?

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “The New Classics: Books”

  1. Lindi Says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I have enjoyed visiting yours in return.
    As to what I am reading at the moment: “Traveller’s Tales 2 – more tales from ABCs Foreign correspondants” – stories and adventures from our own Australian foreign correspondants from all over the world. Next in line will be “Suite Francaise” by Irene Nemirovsky.

  2. maryt/theteach Says:

    I have read almost everyone of these books and taught them in Continuing Education college. I absolutely loved Possession, and the Stone Diaries…haven’t read The Road yet. I expected a Ruby Tuesday post but maybe next week. And even if it is Wednesday in Australia you can still post… 🙂

  3. wjcsydney Says:

    Mary, I’m still typing my post! You will enjoy The Road!

  4. Liz Needle Says:

    Hi Wendy,

    I have read about half of your favourites, so that will give me a list to work on. Interesting that we don’t share many favourites, though.

  5. Naomi in Oz Says:

    I’m very boring when it comes to books. I just keep reading Terry Pratchett books (Discworld specifically) over and over. I did enjoy How to Kill Your Husband and Other Handy Household Hints by Kathy Lette and some of the Marian Keyes books.

Leave a Reply

