Ruby Tuesday #2 – Venezia

Today is Ruby Tuesday, which is hosted here and involves posting a photo of your own which features red.


Red is not a colour one normally associates with Venice…

laundry Venetian style

laundry Venetian style

This photo, taken somewhere in Cannaregio, evokes the wonderful few days we had in Venice on our last trip to Europe in 2006. We stayed in the most wonderful hotel, Locanda Orseolo, with the nicest people. We ate marvellously (not easy in Venice but we had the best recommendations from the Orseolo family – they would ask us what kind of dinner we would like, recommend a place, then call and book it for us, draw us a map…), saw some wonderful art (Titian’s Assumption in the Frari is one of my favourite works of art. I hope to see it again someday, along with the Bellini’s.  It was as good as I had remembered it from 1993.) We visited too many churches (according to MissN), but mainly just strolled the calle off the main tourist routes, had cafe in the campi, took photographs and enjoyed what someone we met on our first visit to Venice called “Disneyland for adults”.

I can’t finish a post about Venice without mentioning the books of Donna Leon.  (Thanks to my sister for recommending them to me).  I have read all but 2 of them.  Leon writes crime/mystery novels set in Venice, but that reduces to them to a genre where they don’t quite fit.  Her “hero” is Commissario Guido Brunetti who reads philosophy and ancient history for relaxation, can be described as “complex, moral, gracious, and fiercely loyal” and comes home to the smell of squid ink risotto or some other Venetian dish cooked by his university professor wife and worries about his children.  Guido and Paola have some interesting spiritual discussions.   This is a good introduction to the Brunetti novels. One can even do Brunetti tours of Venice!  I read each Brunetti novel with a map of Venice handy.

Ciao!

Tags: , , , ,

13 Responses to “Ruby Tuesday #2 – Venezia”

  1. ShutterHappyJenn Says:

    That is an interesting shot!

    Mine’s HERE. Happy Tuesday!

  2. Your EG Tour Guide Says:

    Hmmm. I guess if your clothes blow off in the wind they land in the water. It never occurred to me that Venetians would hang their wash out over the canals. You can learn a lot blogging. 😉

  3. Carletta Says:

    I love the red hanging between the buildings, but that reflection is gorgeous!

  4. Bobbie Says:

    What an interesting ‘slice of life’ image you chose for your Ruby Tuesday post.

  5. dot Says:

    I really like this picture but I can’t imagine hanging my laundry for the world to see!

  6. Michelle Says:

    I wondered how clean that water is…

  7. Dianne Says:

    The photo is so real, so every day, every person and at the same time looks like great art. I kept going back to look at it again and again.

    and thanks for the reading list 🙂

  8. Raven Says:

    Cool shot. I love the contrast of the mundane of the laundry with the historic beauty of the canals and the old buildings and the reflections in the water.

  9. Alice Says:

    This is such a perfectly beautiful photo. I would soooo love to visit Venice some day (while still young enough to enjoy it). From all the photos I’ve seen on it, it must be such a wonderful place to be.

    See my post here, and/or my whole blog I Was Born2Cree8.

  10. maryt/theteach Says:

    This is a wonderful post for Ruby Tuesday! RED laundry hanging over the canal! So great! A real good job! 🙂

  11. wjcsydney Says:

    Alice, you just need to have good knees to cope with all the bridges over the canals!

    Michelle, that water is lethal. they take you to hospital and give you shots if you fall in! Not sure if they do, but they probably should!

    Thanks for all the comments. I am encouraged!

  12. Minkydo Says:

    Great picture!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog lately. I’m glad you enjoyed the songs.

  13. Recent Links Tagged With "venice" - JabberTags Says:

    […] public links >> venice Ruby Tuesday #2 – Venezia Saved by mardek01 on Wed 24-9-2008 Natalie Portman In Venice Saved by miik on Sun 21-9-2008 […]

Leave a Reply

