A-Z of Me

I was tagged by Lightening to do this “A-Z of Me” meme:

Attached or single? Attached. C and I met in 1973 and we celebrate 30 years of wedded bliss (mostly) next June.

Best Friend?  Can I say my daughter? I will.  MissN.

Cake or Pie?  Cake. Rich brownie flat cake.

Day of Choice?  Sunday. Family day. Sleep in. Church. Sunday afternoon tea (new family tradition).

Essential Item? I SHOULD say My Bible.

Flavour of icecream? Coconut and kaffir lime sorbet (it’s dairy free!)

Gummy Bears or Worms? Neither.

Hometown? I was born in Johannesburg and lived there my first 29 years. Been in Sydney ever since.

Indulgences? Jurlique

January or July? January. It’s summer. School holidays. MissN’s birthday.

Kids? MissN who is 13, going on 23 and such a blessing.

Last Movie I saw in a Theatre? I think it was “The Other Boleyn Girl” with MissN.

Middle Name? Joy. MissN has it too. MissNJ. My mother was Dorothy Joy. Her mother’s name was Geziena (she was Dutch) and my grandfather called her Joy as she was his joy. She died in 1934 before my mother was 4.

Number of Siblings? 3. I’m the oldest. Glynis (lives in Johannesburg) is 15 months younger. Neville is next (nearly 4 years younger) and he lives in Cape Town. Derrick is nearly 7 years younger and he lives in Brisbane (he moved to Cape Town, then London, then Auckland and now Brissie. MissN is very happy to have an Aussie cousin!) It’s a pity Brisbane is 10 hours drive away.

Oranges or Apples? Apples.

Phobia or Fear?  Serious mental illness.

Quote? “These are the days of miracle and wonder, this is a long distance call…”

Reason to Smile? I am redeemed!

Season? Autumn

Tag five more…. Linda, Kat, Joyce, Melinda, Sarah

Unknown fact about me? I have studied Afrikaans throughout school (it was obligatory in South Africa), Latin (I took Latin for my matriculation), German and Sotho at university and have done a bit of Italian and French at evening college.  I’m only fluent in English maar ek kan nog Afrikaans lees en ‘n bietjie skryf!

Vegetarian or Oppressor of Animals? Semi vegetarian. I love seafood. I didnt eat any meat for almost 20 years but have been eating prosciutto again.

Xrays or Ultrasound? Ultrasound. What a weird question. But ultrasounds hurt less than mammograms do.

Your favourite food?  I will resist saying chocolate.  Vegetables.

Zodiac? My uncle had a Zodiac I think.. or was it a Zephyr? lol I steer clear of astrology.

Enjoy “my” song:

Tags:

3 Responses to “A-Z of Me”

  1. preacherman Says:

    Wonderful post.
    It is always great to learn about those you read regularly.
    I have been so blessed by your blog.
    I will try to comment as often as possible.
    Sorry I haven’t in a while.
    I have had 3 migraines this week.
    Keep up the fantastic job you do with your blog.
    I know for me it is time worth spending reading.
    Keep up the great work and I hope and pray you and your family have a great week.

  2. Jackal Says:

    Hello you!!! Good to be in touch again – always wonderful to catch up with fella Africamers! Thank you for your kind words about my photography.

    Interesting to learn a bit more about you.

  3. Jackal Says:

    Oops lol sorry – fella was meant to be fellow.

Leave a Reply

