What books are next to your bed?

I found this set of questions on Sheila’s blog.

What was the last book you bought?

One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich (Russian: Один день Ивана Денисовича Odin den’ Ivana Denisovicha) – Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn.  We are reading it in book club this month and I need to finish it by Tuesday night.  I am well known for not finishing book club books.  I get to choose the book we read next.  Any recommendations?

Name a book you have read MORE than once.

The Bible.  I generally don’t reread fiction (unlike MissN who rereads everything – which makes buying books for her a pleasure as I know she will have endless hours of pleasure and that my money has been well spent.  She is currently reading LOTR for the fourth sixth time.)

Has a book ever fundamentally changed the way you see life? If yes, what was it?

What’s so Amazing about Grace by Phillip Yancey.  I was a very new Christian.  Wow.

How do you choose a book? eg. by cover design and summary, recommendations or reviews

Generally from recommendations or reviews.

Do you prefer Fiction or Non-Fiction?

I read more fiction but enjoy non-fiction too.  I read travel books, memoirs, biography.

What’s more important in a novel – beautiful writing or a gripping plot?

That’s sort of an either/or question. I prefer both/and.

Most loved/memorable character

Commissario Guido Brunetti – the hero of Donna Leon’s Venice crime novels.  I could fall in love with Guido!

What was the last book you’ve read, and when was it?

I finished The Shack by William P. Young this morning.  It was profound,  Flawed but powerful and moving. Now I can read John Mark Hicks’ blogposts on it!  Readers in the USA can order a free copy of The Shack here. I know the 2 friends I ordered it for were blessed by it, and they in turn have blessed others with it.

Have you ever given up on a book half way in?

Many times. One book I tried to read so many times (it went on every holiday I went on for at least 5 years) was Peter Carey’s Oscar and Lucinda, which C gave me for Christmas the year it was published (1988 I think). I got halfway quite a few times but could NOT finish it. Now I have enjoyed the movie and won’t ever attempt to read it again. I was relieved when I met others who had the same problem with O&L!

Which book or books can be found on your bedside table at the moment?

ESV New Testament
Wilful Behaviour – Donna Leon (I have just 2 Brunetti novels to read after this – her 2 newest.)
Five Quarters of an Orange – Joanne Harris (borrowed from a friend at least 2 years ago)
A Bunch of EverlastingsF. W. Boreham (my Boreham collection is growing)
The Lord of the Rings Location Guidebook – Ian Brodie
A Gathered PeopleJohn Mark Hicks, Johnny Melton & Bobby Valentine (we started discussing it in a Yahoo group I am in)
TNIV Bible Experience
The Scandal of the Season – Sophie Gee (one of my Christmas presents – haven’t begun it yet)

On the floor, next to my bedside table are:

The Gathering – Anne Enright (book club several months ago – I got to page 142)
The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini (I gave it to C for Christmas because I knew I would enjoy it too – haven’t begun it yet. He enjoyed it.)
Cover to Cover – Through the Bible as it Happened (I need to pack this away – have tried using it twice but it’s too “bitty” – jumps around too much)
An Omelette and a Glass of Wine – Elizabeth David (now back in my cookbook bookcase – I did pack something away!) Elizabeth David is a favourite.  I have most of her books.
A Suitable Boy – Vikram Seth (a signed copy I bought in 1994 when I heard him speak at Writer’s Choice at Sydney Uni – I keep intending to read it.  I took it on holiday in December.  I think I need to pack it away! Or maybe just leave it out to take on holiday this December!)

There is also a (neat) pile of magazines but let’s not go there.
Or mention the books IN the bedside cabinet.

What books are next to YOUR bed?

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “What books are next to your bed?”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Next to me I have His Princess, Love Letters From Your King by Sheri Rose Shepherd, and unusually for me, thats about it.

    When I read I read to the exclusion of all else so I generally save it for Summer holidays which is usually when I have a few new ones to read.

  2. Justin Says:

    Hey, Wendy. Long time no read. I’ve been reading a lot of books, and I thought I’d answer this.

    >>What was the last book you bought? <<

    Divine Nobodies, if I remember right. My wife usually buys of the Amazon wish list and I’m none the wiser.

    >>Name a book you have read MORE than once.<<

    Moo, Baa, La, La, La, by Boynton. Those of you with small kids will understand.

    >>Has a book ever fundamentally changed the way you see life? If yes, what was it?<<

    So You Don’t Want To Go To Church, Anymore?, by Jake Colson. It was surprising.

    >>How do you choose a book? eg. by cover design and summary, recommendations or reviews<> Do you prefer Fiction or Non-Fiction?<>What’s more important in a novel – beautiful writing or a gripping plot?<>Most loved/memorable character<<

    William of Baskerville from The Name of the Rose.

    >>What was the last book you’ve read, and when was it?<<

    Surprised by Hope, by N.T. Wright… two days ago.

    >> Have you ever given up on a book half way in?<<

    Lucado’s It’s Not about Me, and anything written by Piper.

    >> Which book or books can be found on your bedside table at the moment?<<

    Jesus Wants to Save Christians, Rob Bell
    The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, Mark Twain
    Paul, N.T. Wright
    In His Image, Brand and Yancey
    Vine’s, Young’s, a couple bibles.
    back copies of Field and Stream

  3. Tucker Says:

    Hey Wendy,
    This took a lot of time to put together. Very interesting. I have alot of farm magazines but most of those are in my office. I mean my bathroom. I don’t keep any books by my bed cause when I get there, I just go to sleep. I don’t read much, but I do have an audible.com account. I love listening to books much better than reading them and in my line of work, that is a better way to get them read.

  4. freetolive Says:

    Thanks for welcoming my friend Wendy, Wendy! You are an inspiration to me. I have completely revamped my wordrobe based on your helpful hints!

  5. glyn Says:

    Hi Wend, left a message for you on yahoo.Next to my bed at the moment are Richard Russo’s Bridge of Sighs, only into the first hundred or so pages but enjoying it;
    The Way. A bible sent to me by my godfather,whom i never met again.But enjoy the simplicity of the writing without it being rewritten in a more moden way;
    Seat of the Soul by Gary Zukov, an interesting and inspiring way of looking at the world.
    I also have a copy of INSTYLE, american edition
    and Night Train to Lisbon by Pascal Mercier, yet to be read.
    I wont mention the pile of books on my BOOK TABLE as it is just TOO long.

  6. Lisa Says:

    Wow, you have a lot of books by your bed! I don’t usually have books by my bed, because my husband doesn’t like to read in bed, and my reading keeps him up. So I actually have books spread throughout the house! But I usually only read one book at a time, and don’t start a new one until I’m done with the first one. I wonder what that says about me? 🙂

  7. Bettina Says:

    That’s a lot of books by your bed!! Mine currently has Brisinger and Twilight, because I need to keep up with what my kids are reading.

    Blog bling for you at my place 🙂

Leave a Reply

