Feeding the “dump” people and Christmas gifts

We forget how very blessed we are to have an abundance of good, healthy food to eat every day.  Please take a moment to read about the “dump” people in Honduras on Trey Morgan’s blog.

We are in the lead up to Christmas.  I am being inundated by snowmen on facebook.  The shops are tinselly.  Luckily the Christmas music hasn’t started – yet.  Can I challenge you to cut back on the excessive Christmas spending we do (do any of us actually NEED anything?) and give some presents that will make a real difference to people who have very little?

I was going to give gifts from the Christian Blind Mission International Gifts of Life Christmas catalogue this Christmas but the goats and chickens- what I was going to give-  have sold out already! Last year I gave C an adult’s cataract operation from CBM. That proved rather prophetic as he had cataract surgery this year, followed by more surgery for a detached retina.   So we know firsthand how precious that surgery, and eyesight, is.

Other catalogues are:
World Vision Smiles Catalogue (chickens for A$6, goats for A$39, piglets are A$47)
Gifts of Compassion – Global Food Crisis Gift catalogue
Tear Australia Useful Gifts (fish farming for A$5 would be a cool present for a kid!)

fishfarming

Let’s make a difference to those who need it, and not waste money on more stuff and clutter we don’t need.  We can give chickens or fishfarming for the price of 2 coffees!  What a blessing those gifts will make to the families who receive them.  And it will bless us in giving them too.

Matthew 25: 35 For I was hungry, and you fed me. I was thirsty, and you gave me a drink. I was a stranger, and you invited me into your home.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Feeding the “dump” people and Christmas gifts”

  1. Chris Gallagher Says:

    Interesting links and a wonderful idea.

  2. Trey Morgan Says:

    Thanks for your help Wendy 🙂

  3. Kelli Says:

    Thanks Wendy, really makes you think.

    I have already purchased from World Vision for Christmas – instead of buying absolute cheap clutter for people I only see once a year they are being given something to help others – mosquito nets, a toilet & adult literacy classes.

  4. Tucker Says:

    I make sure I give more away than I spend on Christmas for our own family. It just helps keep it in perspective! I love your heart!

  5. CBM Australia Says:

    Thanks Wendy for your support!

    Sorry the animals were not available for you this year. We try our best to practise open and honest communication with our supporters, and felt it would not be appropriate to continue accepting funds for items that were fully funded.

    Our furry friends are just so popular!

  6. Chickens, rabbits and water buffalo for Christmas « Food from Afar Says:

    […] I posted some links a couple of weeks back of organisations with catalogues that provided us with the opportunity to purchase needful things for those who are most needy instead of us privileged ones giving each other more stuff we don’t need, and often don’t even want.   I was really pleased when Christian Blind Mission responded with a comment here. […]

Leave a Reply

