Skywatch Friday 18 – sunset at Breakfast Point

skywatch-friday I haven’t posted to Skywatch Friday in a while but last Sunday night’s sunset inspired me to rush outside with my camera. nov-08-014

nov-08-0181

These two were taken in the road outside our house. I went up to the oval (one street away) and took some more. The sky seemed to be boiling – a fiery cauldron that spilled magma.

nov-08-020
nov-08-021

nov-08-022

And then it calmed and the fiery turbulence was replaced by an inky blue…
nov-08-024

I could draw an analogy to my life and especially this last year (thinking of Malachi 3:3 here), but it would be just too obvious, so I will resist and let the sunset speak for itself.

My friend Steve lost his dad yesterday. This is from a tribute he wrote :

“Goodbye, dad. I love you and hope to meet you on the other side when my time comes. I saw a brilliant red sunset on the way home from work. It reminded me life will go on without you, and some day, without me. Eternity just ahead. Rejoice!  -scg”

Tags: , ,

11 Responses to “Skywatch Friday 18 – sunset at Breakfast Point”

  1. Louise Cannon Says:

    Bravo on this post. The sky is amazing. In the early photos I love how it colors the whole world. Your commentary matches perfectly. And your photography skills are excellent! Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. Norm Says:

    what a fabulous set of sunset photos! they are all beautiful…happy weekend..

  3. Bettina Says:

    awesome pics Wendy!

  4. Happyone Says:

    What can you say but WOW!!! Those photos are fantastic!!! Such brilliant colors!!

  5. The Arthur Clan Says:

    I can see why you were inspired to run outside with your camera…awesome photos and gorgeous sunset!

  6. Grammy Says:

    Your photos are wonderful! This is my first time on swf.
    Have a wonderful weekend!.

  7. Luiz Santilli Jr. Says:

    Wendy
    You show us a fantastic series of marvelous red and pink skies!
    I liked all shots!!

    Luiz

  8. Lisa Says:

    Wow, those are beautiful!!

  9. brian Says:

    beautiful, thanks for sharing

  10. Natural Moments Says:

    I love those types of clouds in the sunsets. The texture mixed in with the rich colours is spectacular.

  11. Mario Says:

    what great skies you captured, very nice!

Leave a Reply

