Skywatch Friday #22 – mudnest gumtree

skywatch-friday

I am a birdwatcher, which explains this photo.  It was taken last Sunday in the Sculpture Garden at the National Gallery of Australia in Canberra. I did a very quick trip to see my friend, Janette, who recently celebrated a milestone birthday (I won’t share which one!).

novdec-08-090

I am not sure what species of bird’s nest it is but would guess it’s a pee wee’s (or magpie-lark if we are being a bit more formal).  I love the light on the leaves of the gum tree.  It was a glorious day.

novdec-08-087

We spent some time in the Sculpture Garden,

novdec-08-100

novdec-08-104

then wandered a bit in the Gallery,

novdec-08-091

had lunch at the cafe,

novdec-08-094

I planned to come back in January for the Degas exhibition,

novdec-08-093

and was blessed, refreshed and renewed by my visit.

novdec-08-106

You can see more Skywatch Friday posts here.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Skywatch Friday #22 – mudnest gumtree”

  1. horsoon Says:

    Nice shots! Thanks for sharing the very beautiful Sculpture Garden; I wish I’d have a chance to be there one day soon!

  2. Chookie Says:

    Enjoying the photos! The nest might also belong to a wagtail.

  3. wjcsydney Says:

    It could have been a willie wagtail, but it seems more likely it belonged to a peewee considering the size which is not easy to determine from the photo. Also it did look like it was a mudnest and not a grass nest, which the willie wagtail builds.

  4. The Rocky Mountain Retreat Says:

    What an intriguing area that I would love to visit. It looks delightful and a place that seems so restful. What a wonderful photo series you have shown us here, how I wish I could make the trip out there.
    Have a very nice weekend…
    ~Michele J~

Leave a Reply

