Pray for You morphs into SpeedDate

I love facebook.  I love keeping up with my far-spread family (and interacting with my daughter on fb in another dimension).  I love the photo’s, the updates… and I spend too much time blitzing jewels.  I try to stay away from most applications for a number of reasons (privacy being one).

I have added some applications (like Growing Gifts, Free Gifts, Send Coffee, Pray for You) that allow me to encourage my friends.  But it’s a worry when you get an email like this from the developer of an application:

We have decided to focus on something more exciting. Pray for You’s name and functionality will be changed next week to SpeedDate, a fun way to meet new people. Data entered into the original app won’t be used anymore. Feel free to check it out. Click here to use Pray for You. You can opt-out of this app here.

Thanks,
Pray for You

HUH?  You can guess that I opted out…  Imagine the marital disharmony this could create for some.  “Sweetie, why do you have SpeedDate in your facebook?”

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Pray for You morphs into SpeedDate”

  1. J D Says:

    grrr… yeah… too many apps and they’re all independent … no telling what we’re signing up for!

  2. Gnometree Says:

    I can’t remember what app I was using that suddenly changed its name to speed date, but it caused a heap of problems in our house. ACW was very angry when I kept getting emails saying that Joe Bloggs had sent me a message on Speed Date. I didn’t know who Joe was, but that was still pretty hard to explain. I eventually just blocked them…

  3. Nicole Beltane Says:

    Yes has happened with a few apps that DH & i have both had on ours. And with DH’s it wasn’t easy to get rid of it. Thats why i block the apps now.

Leave a Reply

