Sydney Duststorm No 2

skywatch Friday

Three days after the red dust storm we had a few weeks ago, we had a second – this time it was yellow, not as severe and was gone by 8.30am. But it did provide a very eerie atmosphere.
sept509 004
I almost missed seeing the sun!

sept509 009
You can get an idea of how hard the wind was blowing in the next photo – which was good – it was all clear by mid morning, but billions of tons of our soil had been dumped in the Pacific ocean and New Zealand gained some too!
sept509 012

Miss Dolce cat was most perturbed by my being out there in the weird light and wind.  She was crying from the upstairs balcony!  Poor baby.

sept509 016

You can see more Skywatch Friday photos here.

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Sydney Duststorm No 2”

  1. Maurice Lauher Says:

    “…the LORD hath his way in the whirlwind and in the storm, and the clouds are the dust of his feet.” Nahum 1:3

    Powerful photographs!

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. J Bar Says:

    Great sky and tree shots.

  3. Vicky Says:

    Peculiar photos, thanks for sharing

  4. Marites Says:

    nice but eerie photos. I can understand Miss Dolce’s worry 🙂 my skywatch is up too.

  5. ozjane Says:

    Poor Miss Dolce. They do not like change of a violent nature.
    I just managed to drop a crate from the top of a stool to the floor of the laundry and Miss Moggie went racing off as if the Hounds of the Baskerville were on her tail.

    We had an awful dust storm back in ’83 and I had just begun teaching at a new local school. Had not been in one school with a grade for years and had just let most of my Preps go when I saw what I thought was smoke advancing at a fast rate. I thought of my home and realised it would go….I thought of my car and outrunning the smoke and knew it was too fast and around that time I think I realised it was dust and stumbled inside with the remaining children, trying to find a light which was hidden under hession stapled to the display wall.
    It was so fast…..I will never forget that speed and can only be grateful it was in face dust, not the smoke that the bushfire people faced.

  6. preacherman Says:

    It looks like West Texas.
    Reminds me of Lubbock.
    When we lived in Lubbock you could taste the sand.
    It would litterally sand blast your teeth if you weren’t careful. 🙂
    Sand Storms are amazing aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

